top of page

How to make a lens flare in Gimp 2.8.10

Hi everyone, In this tutorial I will be showing you how to make a lens flare from scratch. I know you all have seen how one dimensional gimp's normal lens flare is. You also can't do that much with it. I need lens flares a lot in some of the manipulations that I make. If you search for them on the internet, most people want you to buy them and they can be very pricey. There are some great free option's out there for lens flares. But, most of them won't let you use their lens flares commercially. So, the only other option is to make your own. I have not found any plug-ins that you can add to gimp that helps you out in making cool lens flares, like they have for photoshop. So the next best thing to do is make the lens flares from scratch on your own. I show you how to make a lens flare from scratch in gimp. Although it is a very basic lens flare. It should get you rolling on how top make your own lens flares. I hope you guys enjoy this tutorial.

bottom of page